Street Art Proposal

Street art has recently become very popular over the last decade through the big names of Shepard Fairey, Saber, Banksy and many other artists. Typical artists like to do their art on canvas or paper, because it is a nice easy to surface to draw or paint on.What these street artists use are sides of walls, shipping containers on trains and various other places and I want to explore more into the beauty that these artists do in the streets of Fargo. All of us drive or walk by this artwork without taking the time to appreciate some of the work they do. I want to give appreciation to the local artists that spend their loitering days around abandoned buildings and parked trains and illustrate that art can come in so many ways. I will show pictures of walls full of graffiti to even the artwork where it is just simply a quote that catches our imagination. I think it would cool if I had some time myself to do some quick street art myself and really put myself in the shoes of these artists. I know Fargo does not have the awesome Banksy artwork that everyone loves so much but I want to show Fargo for what it is. Who knows, maybe I will find more artwork than I intend to which I hope happens through this investigation. My goal by the end of this photo essay is to show that art comes in all forms, and from all people. Even that art can change how we are as people in a community.

 

2 thoughts on “Street Art Proposal

  1. David, street art makes for a great subject–and a challenge to photograph! I like the idea of you creating some street art to photograph. I suggested to someone else (Casey?) that this topic is also ripe for being a proposal, not just an essay, because cities like Rapid City, SD, have a whole block or two dedicated to street art. Providing some history and context, and arguing for the value of street art, might make for an interesting piece. Oh, and if you are good with photoshop, you could consider photographing buildings and photoshopping some street art onto them–a little before and after.

  2. I very much like your proposal, because so many talented artists go unnoticed. Graffiti isn’t viewed by the majority as a respectable or viable artistic technique and it’s unfortunate. Some of the most thoughtful artwork is spontaneous and irreverent. What medium does this more effectively than graffiti?
    I have spent some time photographing graffiti in downtown Kansas City, Missouri. It was interesting to compare the work that was considered vandalism, and commissioned street art. I still have the files, so if you would like to use different cities to inform your research, I’d be happy to share them with you.

Leave a Reply

