Californication

 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wtiGvgBCz0Y&feature=youtu.beThis remix was a huge challenge for me for the fact that I had never used any sort of video or audio editing software of any sort. After many hours of watching tutorials and familiarizing myself with software, this remix assignment actually became enjoyable.
My inspirations were of course, Greenfield inspired, from the previous assignment. I did mix it up with incorporating my favorite band, the mighty Red Hot Chili Peppers. I felt like these could be compared quite well, especially lyrically for the song “Californication”. I found numerous videos of commercials, t.v. shows, and music videos that portrayed some of my ideas of this “californication”. I focused on body image, consumerism, and that glitz and glamour of Hollywood. However, I did throw in a couple of bands that came from this evil corporation of Hollywood, which include the Chili Peppers, as well as Rage Against the Machine.
I feel that these bands are great examples of protest, which is what I’m trying to do; protest against this media pressure that starts at a young age, especially for girls.
So, I hope you enjoy and kind of get what I’m going for in this remix.
Also, I do not own any of the material used, including videos and the song. All of it is used for creative and student purposes.
Thanks!

Leave a Reply

